has the rare distinction of being a Grade 1 listed house with a Grade 1 listed park and garden. Like most houses, Port Eliot has a front door and about there the similarity ends. There are 11 staircases, 15 back doors and 82 chimneys. The roof covers half an acre and not once in living memory has it been completely watertight. More
Port Eliot House and Gardens has now reopened the gates for our annual House Open Season. From 29th February – 26th June visitors are able to roam freely in the gardens and explore the ancient treasure chest of a house that Lord and Lady St Germans call home.
of the house are available in the normal entry price. Also included in this price are guided tours on Mondays and Thursdays of the Georgian kitchen and the fascinating basements with the china closet and candle lit wine cellars to explore. The basement reveals some of the oldest parts of the house with 9th century walls and 12th century lancet windows from the monastery. Private tours are available via prior arrangement
Port Eliot Tearoom in the Long Gallery
We are delighted to announce that the wonderful tearooms in the Long Gallery are open again, 9am to 5pm, serving a variety of hot and cold drinks and snacks along with delicious homemade light lunches. Groups are advised to book in advance. Please contact email@example.com for more information.
PORT ELIOT FESTIVAL - 28th - 31st July 2016
Every summer Port Eliot throws open its gates for the Port Eliot Festival, a four-day celebration of music, literature, fashion, food and entertainment across 18 venues and stages. Find out more about camping in the parkland, events in the children's area, activities for teens, arts and craft workshops and fun on the river by visiting www.porteliotfestival.com. More
RECENT AWARDS & RECOMMENDATIONS
Hudson's Heritage awarded Port Eliot their "Best Picnic Spot" 2012. Judge for yourselves how gorgeous it is! Thanks also to Urlaub Cornwall for recommending Port Eliot to their German readers "Empfohlen von Urlaub Cornwall".
Port Eliot – history:
The House at Port Eliot has been lived in for over 1000 years and believed to be the oldest continually inhabited dwelling in the UK. The earliest written reference to Port Eliot is from the 5th century AD, Augustinian monks were there from the year 937, while the earliest remaining evidence of a dwelling on the site is a 1500-year-old glazed tiled floor, dating from the late Iron Age. In the 18th century, Sir John Soane remodeled the Grade I-listed priory and house and landscape gardener Humphrey Repton created the gardens and park. Port Eliot is full of the accumulated treasures of its long history, from works by Sir Joshua Reynolds and Van Dyck to a mural by South West England’s most celebrated 20th century artist, Robert Lenkiewicz.
Dogs welcome on leads in the grounds. Garden ticket required.
The gorgeous Long Gallery Tea Room also welcomes dogs and is now open for hot drinks, light lunches and afternoon tea, 9am – 5pm.
St Germans Priory Church, adjacent to Port Eliot is the finest, oldest historic church in Cornwall. more...